Skip to content

And Then There Were Seven…

May 29, 2014

When Betty Rene’e Hafford Couvillon LaCour became Betty Rene’e Hafford Couvillon LaCour Danna on Monday, I knew the DMV didn’t have a license big enough.

At 37-letters long, the name, while reflecting the last 48-years of her life, would be so unwieldy in the legal sense that she’d likely dry up a lowly BIC if she had to sign her name more than twice.

But over the last three days she’s simply introduced herself as Rene’e Danna; 10 letters and only five different letters.  By marrying her I’ve saved ink pens the world over.

When I first met Rene’e’s family I felt like I needed a program to keep up with all the Hotards, Haffords, LaCours, Couvillons, Kimballs and Bossiers, not to mention the spouses of granddaughters and their extended families.  The Dannas are few.  There was time back in the late 1970s when all seven Danna households listed in the Baton Rouge phone book were blood relatives.

Today our ranks stand at just six immediate family members who carry the name, something my son Chase often questions me about.  He’s getting in touch with his Italian heritage and the “family” name is very important to him.

So when I heard Rene’e introduce herself to a client Tuesday as Rene’e Danna, I couldn’t help but smile.  Somewhere the ghost of my great-great-great-great grandfather from Sicily was nodding his approval.  There were seven of us again.

Monday’s marriage to Rene’e was, in the interest of my improving health, a brief affair.  Guests included the mother and sisters of the bride, the members of the groom’s immediate family, Connie and Jim Monroe, Julie Baxter, Bill Bryan, Nick LaCour and his brother Dillon Couvillon via Facetime from New York.  Officiating was Jim Engster, my friend of nearly 30 years.

As a reporter, Jim’s a pretty good parson.  The vows he wrote for us were concise.  He didn’t bury the lead, as they say in Journalism 101.  I know some of you saw some of the photos posted on Facebook.  I’ve posted a few others here.

Thanks to everyone for your texts, calls and emails.  I’m trying to answer as many as I can, but with my white blood cell count officially below 100 I’m not the most energetic person right now.

Blood transfusions begin tomorrow and thanks to all of you who will be donating blood on my behalf.  Rene’e and I are truly grateful to have people in our lives who care about us so deeply.

With the infusion comes renewed energy hopefully.  Any rejection issues notwithstanding, the marrow should reset itself and begin producing healthy cells.  Right now my target date for release is June 20.  I know I won’t make the Farm Bureau convention but know that I’ll be there in spirit.  My Farm Bureau family means so much to me and I can’t imagine my life without all of you.

Until next time…

12 Comments leave one →
  1. howard arceneaux permalink
    May 29, 2014 7:02 pm

    I am so happy for you and Renee that you are married and that Jim officiated. I will continue to pray for your recovery. Godspeed, my friend.

  2. Ashley Rodrigue permalink
    May 29, 2014 8:09 pm

    Where can Andre go to donate? I can’t do it but he can. He’s one of those people they call all the time when supply is low because they know he’ll show up. He’d be honored to donate on your behalf.

    • Rene'e permalink
      May 30, 2014 6:27 pm

      Thanks Ashley. LifeShare on North Blvd. have him call for an appointment and if on any medications to bring them. ❤

  3. Lisa Registerl permalink
    May 29, 2014 9:18 pm

    Great blog Mike! Is there a place we can donate for you up here, maybe in Shreveport?

    • Rene'e permalink
      May 30, 2014 7:49 pm

      8910 Linwood Ave, Shreveport, La. Life Share. Please call and make an appointment before you go. Thank you for donating in his name. He will need plenty on the journey so we appreciate every one.

      • Lisa Register permalink
        May 31, 2014 3:45 pm

        We will get up there as soon as we can!

  4. Martin Hugh-Jones permalink
    May 29, 2014 10:18 pm

    I am so glad that you Mike formally have Rene’e, and she you. May you enjoy many years together, with love, Martin

    • Rene'e permalink
      May 30, 2014 7:42 pm

      Thanks Doc. That is what we are aiming for in the future.

  5. Jenne Farr permalink
    May 30, 2014 7:14 am

    Congratulations to Mike and Rene’e Danna! Please let me know where blood can be donated on your behalf.

    • Rene'e permalink
      May 30, 2014 7:44 pm

      Please see my comment below. Thanks for helping.

  6. Rene'e permalink
    May 30, 2014 7:44 pm

    LifeShare on North Blvd. They work by appointment and only on certain days so please call first. Thank you,

  7. May 31, 2014 7:15 pm

    Fantastic! The bow tie is outstanding. I’ve got a dozen or so…the only tie for me. Best wishes.

Leave a Reply

